Friday, 13 December 2013

"Sack Defected Governors"- PDP Goes To Court

Photo: PDP asks court to sack the defected governors
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has urged an Abuja Federal High Court to sack its the 5 governors, who have recently defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).
The request concerns the following governors: Alhaji Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers), Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto), Rabiu Kwakwanso (Kano) and Abdulfatai Ahmed (Kwara).
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was also listed as a defendant in the suit filed on behalf of the PDP by Alex Izinyon (SAN).
According to the suit filed by the ruling party, the mentioned governors should be sacked on the grounds that by their defection, they had forfeited their offices.
Furthermore, the PDP wants the court to order the deputy governors or speakers of their state Houses of Assembly to assume their positions.
The PDP also asked the court to for a declaration that in the absence of any division in the PDP, the governors had vacated or forfeited their seats upon their defection to the APC.
Moreover, the FHC was asked to make a declaration that the offices of the governors had reverted to the PDP and a declaration that upon the defection of the governors, the mandates revert to the deputy governors or the speakers of Houses of Assembly of the respective states or any other officers next in rank who are still members of the PDP.
The party, in the same vein, asked the court to make an order mandating/directing the Houses of Assembly of Adamawa, Rivers, Sokoto, Kano and Kwara states to commence impeachment proceedings against the governors.